Crisis Services

Mandated Reporter Information
If you are a professional who works with children and families, you are in a key position to help protect children from harm. Minnesota law requires professionals and their delegates who work with children to make a child protection report if they know or have reason to believe:
  • A child is being neglected or abused
  • A child has been neglected or abused within the preceding 3 years
Minnesota laws provide mandated reporters with great personal responsibility. If you suspect a child is being abused or neglected, you cannot shift the responsibility of reporting to a supervisor, or to someone else in the office, school, clinic, or licensed facility. You alone are required to make the report to the responsible agency.

Anyone who reports child abuse or neglect in good faith is immune from civil liability. If you are required to report known or suspected abuse or neglect and fail to do so, you are guilty of a misdemeanor.

The Minnesota Department of Human Services provides a resource guide for mandated reporters.

Chisago County Mandated Report Form
The Chisago County Mandated Report Form is available online to print. After you complete it, please fax it to 651-213-5686. This should be done after the initial phone report is made.

Chisago County intake staff will fax you a copy of the form if needed.

After Hours Contact
Chisago County human services provides 24-hour crisis response to all citizens. If you have questions during the hours of 8 a.m. through 4:30 p.m. please call 651-213-5600.

For an after hours, holiday, or weekend emergency, or if you need an immediate response or have a life threatening emergency, please call 911.

Multidisciplinary Team

In accordance with Minnesota Statute 626.558, Subdivision 1, Chisago County human services has monthly Multidisciplinary Team meetings. Meetings are generally held on the 3rd Tuesday of each month from Noon to 1:30 p.m. at the Government Center.

Any mandated reporter who has had a report screened out of child protection is invited to attend the meeting to gain information on why the report was not accepted as a child protection assessment. Call Kristina Thompson, Children's Unit Supervisor, 651-213-5648, for date of meeting and to sign up to attend.

Authority to Place Children
Chisago County children's services workers do not have the legal authority to remove children from their parental homes without a court order or a law enforcement hold. Law enforcement can put a child on a 72-hour hold if the child is found in conditions which endanger their health or safety.

The 72 hours indicated in the hold do not include weekends or legal holidays. Social workers can petition the court for an order to remove a child from their home if there are safety concerns which do not warrant an emergency law enforcement hold.

Child in Need of Protection or Services (CHIPS)
Child in Need of Protection or Services is the name given to the court disposition for a child who is found to have been abused or neglected by a parent or caretaker. Statutory definition of Child in Need of Protection or Services is in the Minnesota Statute 260C.007, Subdivision 6.