Licenses

The Auditor's office issues the following licenses
  • Auctioneer
  • Fireworks / Pyrotechnic Effects
  • Liquor
  • Precious Metals
  • Tobacco
Auctioneer Licenses
The Chisago County Auditor may license any natural person having the following qualifications:
  • Is at least 18 years of age.
  • Has been a resident of the county for at least 6 months.
  • Completes and signs an application for Auction License.
A corporate surety bond in a penal sum of not less than $1,000 nor more than $3,000 must be filed and kept by the county at the same time the application is completed, signed and filed with the County Auditor, conditioned that the auctioneer will pay all sums required by law and in all things conform to the laws relating to auctioneers.

The fee is $20 and the license is valid for one year from the date of issue.

For more information you may contact the Chisago County Auditor's Office at 651-213-8504 or by sending a request via email.

Downloadable Forms
Fireworks / Pyrotechnic Effects
The Chisago County Auditor's office issues fireworks / pyrotechnic effects licenses for individuals / organizations located within Chisago County.

Applications must be completed and returned at least 15 days prior to the date of display and must include the following:
  • $5 Application Fee
  • Proof of bond or certificate of insurance in the amount of at least $1,000,000
  • Diagram of the grounds at which the display will be held including buildings, ground pieces, highways, streets, power and communication lines. dimensions included. The diagram must also include the fallout radius for each pyrotechnic device used during the display.
  • Names and ages (must be 18 years of age) of all assistants that will be participating in the display.
A permit will not be issued until all signatures and approvals are obtained.

Minnesota State Law (MS 624.22) requires that the display be conducted under the direct supervision of a pyrotechnic operator certified by the State Fire Marshal.

For more information you may contact the Chisago County Auditor's office at 651-213-8504 or by sending a request via email.

Downloadable Forms
Liquor Licenses
The Chisago County Auditor's office issues liquor licenses for businesses located within the townships of Chisago County. If a business is located in the limits of a city, contact the City Clerk or Administrator.

There are six different types of liquor licenses that can be applied for from the Chisago County Auditor's office:
  • Off Sale
  • Wine
  • Temporary Liquor
  • On Sale
  • 3.2 Beer
  • Sunday
Each of these licenses has their own rules and regulations. To learn more about those regulations go to the Department of Public Safety, Alcohol and Gambling enforcement website.

All licenses must be renewed yearly. Approval from the township, County Attorney and Sheriff must be obtained prior to the Chisago County Board of Commissioners approval. Final approval is then obtained from the State of Minnesota, liquor control.

New businesses that have never been issued a liquor license must have a conditional use permit issued by the zoning authority. A public hearing must be held for a new off sale license and liquor control will need to do an on site inspection. Sunday liquor must be approved by the voters in a township at the annual township election if a Sunday license has never been issued in that township

All licenses require a retailers card known as a buyers card. The application for the buyers card can be obtained from the liquor control website.

A packet of information with applications, township approval form and information on insurance can be obtained by contacting the Chisago County Auditor's office at 651-213-8504 or by sending a request via email.

Precious Metal Dealers License
A precious metal is defined as silver, gold and platinum. A precious metal license is required when any precious metal dealer engages in the business of buying secondhand items containing precious metals. A precious metal dealer license shall authorize the precious metal dealer to transact business only at the location or locations designated in the license. The Minnesota State Statutes that pertain to precious metal dealers and licensing can be found in chapter 325F.

The cost of the license in Chisago County is $100 which is good for one year from the date of the current license. If you are interested in applying for a precious metal dealer license, please contact the Auditor's Office at 651-213-8504 or by sending a request via email.

Downloadable Forms
Tobacco Licenses
Chisago County Ordinance #98-2 relating to the sale, possession and use of tobacco, tobacco products and tobacco related devices in Chisago County and to reduce the illegal sale, possession and use of such items to and by minors.

The Chisago County Board of Commissioners hereby ordains:
  • No person shall sell or offer to sell any tobacco, tobacco products or tobacco related device without first having obtained a license to do so from the county.
The Chisago County Auditor's office licenses all establishments selling tobacco that are located in a township or in the City of Shafer or the City of Stacy. All applications must be approved by the Chisago County Sheriff and the County Attorney prior to Chisago County Board Approval. The license fee is $50 and must be renewed yearly. The license year is from May 1 to April 30.

License applications can be obtained by contacting the Chisago County Auditor's office at 651-213-8504 or by sending a request via email.

Downloadable Forms